TTA-NZ Executive Committee

The TTA-NZ Executive Committee are committed to supporting tourism teachers in Aotearoa and look forward to connecting with teachers across the regions.

The Tourism Teachers Aotearoa- New Zealand, TTA-NZ, was officially established in 2019.

This organisation was formed to assist tourism teachers in New Zealand secondary schools to support each other, upskill through professional development opportunities, involve ourselves in subject development and link with  the tourism industry in our regions to enhance our programmes for our students.

Relationships with travel and tourism businesses

The TTA-NZ is supported by tertiary tourism educators and have well developed relationships with Tourism Industry Aotearoa -TIA and Tourism New Zealand – TNZ. We are working to continually develop relationships with travel and tourism businesses.

We work with Service IQ and the Ministry of Education to ensure our students are well served by the programmes we deliver in tourism classes across the country.

Global links with tourism teachers

Links with teachers in the Pacific region are being developed and we look forward to developing global links in the future.

Growing support for tourism educators

A dedicated national executive and regional co-ordinators work with teachers across NZ as we collectively grow the support for tourism in our schools. 

We hope you find this website useful and we look forward to your participation in this organisation.

Ngā mihi 
Julie TTA-NZ Chairperson

The TTA-NZ is represented in six regions across the country. Please contact your closest regional leader to introduce yourself and to sign up for regional updates.


Julie McDougall
HOD Travel and Tourism
Macleans College


Claire Mckay
Social Sciences Teacher
Curriculum Leader Tourism Rangitoto College

Dave Purdie

Dave Purdie
Assistant HOD Social Studies, TIC Geography and Tourism
Nelson College

Otago/Southland Region Leader

Michelle Buckham
TIC Geography/Tourism
St Kevin’s College

Callum Green
Canterbury Region Leader

Callum Green
Head of Faculty-Social Sciences
Burnside High School

Dave Purdie
Te Tau Ihu (Top of the South) Region Leader

Dave Purdie
Assistant HOD Social Studies, TIC Geography and Tourism
Nelson College

Megan Willis
Region TBC

Megan Willis
TIC Geography, TIC Tourism
Onslow College

Sarah Cowie
Bay of Plenty/Waikato Region Leader

Sarah Cowie
Curriculum Leader
Social Science Papamoa College

Kell Sabbage
Region TBC

Kelly Sabbage
TIC Tourism
One Tree Hill College

Southland Regional Leader

Sentain McCraw
Teacher of Social & TIC of Tourism
Gore High School

Project Manager
Megan Roberts
TTA-NZ Project Manager
Auckland University of Technology
Tertiary representatives

Ceri Jenkins
International Travel College